Exercise: Your own workflow 2

This is a similar exercise to the previous one but differs in that it is not a time constrained shoot, will consist of an unpredictable number of images and that I should produce a workflow specifically for this shoot.

Whereas I used my last trip to shoot a portrait session in Pasadena, LA, this trip takes me to Johannesburg in South Africa so I thought a day at the Pilanesberg National Park would give me an opportunity to shoot some wildlife.  My workflow for this shoot was as follows:

  • Check gear.  This was to ensure that I had the right lenses, in particular my 100-400mm lens.  I charged my batteries, cleaned the lenses, zeroed the camera settings and wiped my cards of old photos.  I checked that I had both my 8 Gb cards to ensure enough space to shoot without compromise.  Knowing that I would probably be shooting at long focal lengths I packed a travel tripod.
  • I joined a couple of friends interested in photography and booked a day drive around the Pilanesberg National Park.
  • I shot some 12 Gb of RAW images on 2 cards with only 1 set of batteries.  Because of the space limitations inside our vehicle I used my tripod as a mono-pod to stabilise my big lens.
  • During the shoot I deleted poor shots as I went but mainly reviewed the last few images whilst we were on the road to the next location.  I only deleted gross errors realising that some elements of an apparently poor image might still be recovered at the post processing stage.
  • Once back home I created a folder for the shoot and downloaded all the images through Lightroom.  The shoot totalled 464 images.  During the download I added key words to the images for future searches.
  • The aim of my first quick review was to delete images that were obviously not worth keeping… this reduces the count to 356 images.
  • I then created a Collection for the shoot named DPP Ex2 and made it the Target Collection to aid selection.  I ran through all 356 images and put 80 into the Collection.
  • Using the 80 shots in the Collection I gave Flags to the 40 that I was going to post process.  I was mainly aiming to adjust the light levels, clarity, saturation, sharpness, luminance and Profiled Lens Corrections where this helped the image.
  • After adjusting the photographs in Lightroom developer I gave the images a final Star rating to help me choose the best for my blog. For the final selection I colour coded them Red and then used the filter to present my final 18 which I am posting in a gallery below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So… how well did I anticipate my needs in the various stages?  I had all the equipment that I wanted and everything worked as advertised so I definitely ticked that box.  My downloading and processing work was considerably quicker than on Ex 1 but that was mainly because I could do the all the post processing within Lightroom rather than using the 3 different programmes that were required for my portrait shoot.

I can’t say that this examination of my workflow has changed my habits much.  I have always been fairly good about checking and packing what I need for a shoot so that hasn’t changed much.  My download and post processing workflow has become a little slicker but that is as much because I am getting used to new software (Lightroom is a new addition) as it is to thinking through the process.

Leave a comment